Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Hippocampal activation in MCI patients is necessary for successful memory encoding
  1. Tilo Kircher (tkircher{at}ukaachen.de)
  1. RWTH Aachen University Hospital, Germany
    1. Susanne Weis (sweis{at}ukaachen.de)
    1. RWTH Aachen University Hospital, Germany
      1. Katrin Freymann (katrin.freymann{at}ukb.uni-bonn.de)
      1. University of Bonn, Germany
        1. Michael Erb (michael.erb{at}med.uni-tuebingen.de)
        1. University of Tuebingen, Germany
          1. Frank Jessen (frank.jessen{at}ukb.uni-bonn.de)
          1. University of Bonn, Germany
            1. Wolfgang Grodd (wolfgang.grodd{at}med.uni-tuebingen.de)
            1. University of Tuebingen, Germany
              1. Reinhard Heun (heun{at}uni-bonn.de)
              1. University of Birming, United Kingdom
                1. Dirk T Leube (dleube{at}ukaachen.de)
                1. RWTH Aachen University Hospital, Germany

                  Abstract

                  Episodic memory enables us to consciously recollect personally experienced past events. Memory performance is reduced in patients with mild cognitive impairment (MCI) – an at risk condition for Alzheimer’s disease (AD). We used functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) to compare brain activity during memory encoding in 29 healthy, elderly subjects (mean age 67.7 years, SD 5.4 years) and 21 MCI patients (mean age 69.7 years, SD 7.0 years). Subjects remembered a list of words while fMRI data was acquired. Later, they had to recognize these words among a list of distractor words. The use of an event-related paradigm made it possible to selectively analyze successfully encoded items in each individual. We compared activation for successfully encoded words between healthy elderly subjects and MCI patients. The main intergroup difference was found in left hippocampus and surrounding medial temporal lobe (MTL) regions for the MCI patients as compared to healthy subjects during successful encoding. These results suggest that in MCI patients an increase of MTL activation is necessary for successful memory encoding. Hippocampal activation may help to link newly learned information to items already stored in memory. Increased activation in MTL regions in MCI may reflect a compensatory response to beginning AD pathology.

                  • episodic memory
                  • fmri
                  • hippocampus
                  • mild cognitive impairment

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.