Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Towards an Integrative Approach to the Management of Myotonic Dystrophy Type 1
  1. Cynthia Gagnon (cynthia.gagnon.1{at}ulaval.ca)
  1. Carrefour de santé de Jonquière, Canada
    1. Luc Noreau (luc.noreau{at}rea.ulaval.ca)
    1. Laval University, Canada
      1. Richard T. Moxley (karen_berk{at}urmc.rochester.edu)
      1. Departments of Pediatrics and Neurology, University of Rochester, School of Medicine, United States
        1. Luc Laberge (luc.laberge{at}cjonquiere.qc.ca)
        1. Groupe Écobes, Canada
          1. Stéphane Jean (stephane_jean{at}uqac.ca)
          1. Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Canada
            1. Louis Richer (louis_richer{at}uqac.ca)
            1. Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, Canada
              1. Michel Perron (michel.perron{at}cjonquiere.qc.ca)
              1. Groupe Écobes, Canada
                1. Suzanne Veillette (suzanne.veillette{at}cjonquiere.qc.ca)
                1. Groupe Écobes, Canada
                  1. Jean Mathieu (jmathieu50{at}videotron.ca)
                  1. Université de Montréal, Canada

                    Abstract

                    Myotonic dystrophy presents a broad spectrum of impairments, disabilities and disturbed social participation. Numerous factors, namely health, economic, social as well as educational levels, call for a comprehensive assessment framework. This article presents a conceptual model for the management of myotonic dystrophy type 1 and a discussion approach for developing interdisciplinary health and community services.

                    • Clinical management
                    • Conceptual framework
                    • Disability Creation Process
                    • myotonic dystrophy
                    • neuromuscular disorder

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.