Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Prolonged activation EEG differentiates dementia with and without delirium in frail elderly
  1. Christine Thomas (mail{at}christinethomas.de)
  1. Centre for Psychosocial Medicine, Department of General PsychiatrEvangelisches Krankenhaus Bielefeld, Germany
    1. Ute Hestermann (uhestermann{at}bethanien-heidelberg.de)
    1. Bethanien-Hospital, Geriatric Centre of the University of Heidelberg, Germany, Germany
      1. Stephan Walther (stephan.walther{at}med.uni-heidelberg.de)
      1. Centre for Psychosocial Medicine, Department of General Psychiatry, University of Heidelberg, German, Germany
        1. Ute Pfueller (ute.pfueller{at}med.uni-heidelberg.de)
        1. Centre for Psychosocial Medicine, Department of General Psychiatry, University of Heidelberg, German, Germany
          1. Markus Hack (markus.hack{at}bethanien-heidelberg.de)
          1. Bethanien-Hospital, Geriatric Centre of the University of Heidelberg, Germany, Germany
            1. Peter Oster (poster{at}bethanien-heidelberg.de)
            1. Bethanien-Hospital, Geriatric Centre of the University of Heidelberg, Germany, Germany
              1. Christoph Mundt (christoph.mundt{at}med.uni-heidelberg.de)
              1. Centre for Psychosocial Medicine, Department of General Psychiatry, University of Heidelberg, German, Germany
                1. Matthias Weisbrod (matthias.weisbrod{at}med.uni-heidelberg.de)
                1. Centre for Psychosocial Medicine, Department of General Psychiatry, University of Heidelberg, German, Germany

                  Abstract

                  Objective: Delirium in the elderly results in increased morbidity, mortality, and functional decline. Particularly in dementia delirium is underdiagnosed. To increase diagnostic accuracy, we investigated whether the maintenance of activation assessed by EEG discriminates delirium concomitant with dementia(D+D) from dementia without delirium(DP) and cognitively unimpaired elderly(CU).

                  Method: Routine and quantitative EEG (rEEG/qEEG) with additional prolonged activation (3min eyes-open-period) were evaluated in hospitalized elderly with acute geriatric disease. Patients were assigned post hoc to three comparable groups (D+D/DP/CU) by expert consensus based on DSM-IV criteria. Dementia diagnosis was confirmed with cognitive and functional tests and caregiver rating (IQCODE).

                  Results: While rEEG at rest showed low accuracy of delirium diagnosis, in qEEG DP and CU revealed a specific activation pattern of high significance found to be absent in D+D. Stepwise logistic regression confirmed that the differentiation of D+D from DP is best resolved using activated upper alpha and delta powerdensity, which, compared to rEEG, enables an 11% increase of diagnostic correctness to 83%, resulting in 67% sensitivity and 91% specificity. Among frail CU and D+D almost 90% were correctly classified.

                  Conclusion: Dementia associated delirium can be discriminated reliably from dementia alone in a meaningful clinical setting. Thus, EEG evaluation in chronic encephalopathy should be optimized by a simple activation task and spectral analysis especially in the demented elderly.

                  • EEG spectral analysis
                  • activation
                  • aged
                  • delirium diagnosis
                  • dementia

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.