Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Tactile temporal discrimination in patients with blepharospasm
  1. Mirta Fiorio (mirta.fiorio{at}medicina.univr.it)
  1. Dip. Scienze Neurologiche e della Visione, Sez. Neurologia Riabilitativa, Università di Verona, Italy
    1. Michele Tinazzi (michele.tinazzi{at}azosp.vr.it)
    1. Dip. Scienze Neurologiche e della Visione and Unità Operativa Neurologia, Borgo Trento, Verona, Italy
      1. Alessandra Scontrini (alessandra.scontrini{at}uniroma1.it)
      1. Dipartimento di Scienze Neurologiche e Istituto Neuromed, Università di Roma “La Sapienza”, Rome, Italy
        1. Clementina Stanzani (memesta{at}hotmail.com)
        1. Dip. Scienze Neurologiche e della Visione, Sez. Neurologia Riabilitativa, Università di Verona, Italy
          1. Mattia Gambarin
          1. Dip. Scienze Neurologiche e della Visione, Sez. Neurologia Riabilitativa, Università di Verona, Italy
            1. Antonio Fiaschi (antonio.fiaschi{at}univr.it)
            1. Dip. Scienze Neurologiche e della Visione, Sez. Neurologia Riabilitativa, Università di Verona, Italy
              1. Giuseppe Moretto (giuseppe.moretto{at}azosp.vr.it)
              1. Unità operativa Neurologia, Ospedale Civile Borgo Trento, Verona, Italy
                1. Giovanni Fabbrini (giovanni.fabbrini{at}uniroma1.it)
                1. Dipartimento di Scienze Neurologiche e Istituto Neuromed, Università di Roma “La Sapienza”, Roma, Italy
                  1. Alfredo Berardelli (alfredo.berardelli{at}uniroma1.it)
                  1. Dipartimento di Scienze Neurologiche e Istituto Neuromed, Università di Roma “La Sapienza”, Roma, Italy

                    Abstract

                    Background: Blepharospasm is an adult-onset focal dystonia that causes involuntary blinking and eyelid spasms. Studies have shown the presence of sensory deficits associated to dystonia.

                    Aim: To rule out any confounding effect of muscle spasms on sensory performance in affected and unaffected body regions of patients with blepharospasm and with hemifacial spasm.

                    Methods: Participants (19 patients with blepharospasm, 19 patients with hemifacial spasm and 19 control subjects) were asked to discriminate whether two stimuli were simultaneous or sequential (temporal discrimination threshold, TDT). Pairs of tactile stimuli were delivered with increasing or decreasing inter-stimulus intervals from 0 to 400 msec (in 10 msec steps) to the hands or on the skin over the orbicularis oculi muscle.

                    Results: Tactile stimuli elicited similar TDT in control subjects and patients with hemifacial spasm, but significantly higher TDT in patients with blepharospasm, regardless of whether stimuli were applied to the orbicularis muscle or the hand.

                    Conclusions: Since TDT was abnormal in unaffected body regions of patients with blepharospasm, and patients with hemifacial spasm processed tactile stimuli normally, TDT deficits in blepharospasm depend on central rather than peripheral factors. This study further supports the link between focal dystonia and impaired temporal processing of somatosensory inputs.

                    • basal ganglia
                    • blepharospasm
                    • dystonia
                    • sensory temporal discrimination threshold
                    • temporal processing

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.