Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Location of lacunar infarcts correlates with cognition in a sample of non disabled subjects with age-related white matter changes: the LADIS study.
  1. Sarah Benisty (sarah.benisty{at}lrb.aphp.fr)
  1. Lariboisière-Fernand Widal Hospital, APHP, France
    1. Alida A Gouw (aa.gouw{at}vumc.nl)
    1. VU Medical Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands
      1. Raphael Porcher (raphael.porcher{at}paris7.jussieu.fr)
      1. Saint-Louis Hospital, APHP and University Paris Diderot, France
        1. Sofia Madureira (pmadureira{at}fm.ul.pt)
        1. Centro de Estudos Egas Moniz, Hospital de Santa Maria, Portugal
          1. Karen Hernandez (karen.hernandez{at}lrb.aphp.fr)
          1. Lariboisière-Fernand Widal Hospital, APHP, France
            1. Anna Poggesi (annapoggesi{at}libero.it)
            1. Department of Neurological and Psychiatric Sciences, University of Florence, Italy
              1. Wiesje M van der Flier (wm.vdflier{at}vumc.nl)
              1. VU Medical Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands
                1. Elisabeth C W Van Straaten (i.vanstraaten{at}vumc.nl)
                1. VU Medical Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands
                  1. Ana Verdelho (averdelho{at}netcabo.pt)
                  1. Centro de Estudos Egas Moniz, Hospital de Santa Maria, Portugal
                    1. Jose Ferro (jmferro{at}fm.ul.pt)
                    1. Centro de Estudos Egas Moniz, Hospital de Santa Maria, Portugal
                      1. Leonardo Pantoni (pantoni{at}neuro.unifi.it)
                      1. Department of Neurological and Psychiatric Sciences, University of Florence, Italy
                        1. Domenico Inzitari (inzitari{at}neuro.unifi.it)
                        1. Department of Neurological and Psychiatric Sciences, University of Florence, Italy
                          1. Frederick Barkhof (f.barkhof{at}vumc.nl)
                          1. VU Medical Center, Amsterdam, Netherlands
                            1. Franz Fazekas (franz.fazekas{at}meduni-graz.at)
                            1. Medical University, Graz, Austria
                              1. Hugues Chabriat (hugues.chabriat{at}lrb.aphp.fr)
                              1. Lariboisière-Fernand Widal Hospital, APHP, France

                                Abstract

                                Objectives: In cerebral small vessel disease, white-matter hyperintensities (WMH) and lacunes are both related to cognition. Still, their respective contribution in the elderly remains unclear. The purpose of this study is to assess the topographic distribution of lacunes and determine whether it has an impact on cognitive functions in a sample of non-disabled patients with age-related white matter changes.

                                Methods: Data were drawn from the baseline evaluation of the LADIS (Leukoaraioisis and Disability study) cohort of non-disabled subjects beyond 65 years-old. The neuropsychological evaluation was based on MMSE, a modified Alzheimer Diseases Assessment Scale for global cognitive functions, and compound Z scores for memory, executive functions, speed and motor control. WMH were rated according to the Fazekas scale; the number of lacunes was assessed in the following areas: lobar white matter, putamen/pallidum, thalamus, internal/external capsule, infratentorial areas. Analysis of covariance was performed after adjustment for possible confounders.

                                Results: Among 633 subjects, 47% had at least one lacune (31% at least one within basal ganglia). The presence of lacunes in the thalamus was associated with lower scores of MMSE (β=-0.61;p=0.043), and worse compound scores for speed and motor control (β=-0.25;p=0.006), executive functions (β=-0.19;p=0.022) independently of the cognitive impact of WMH. There was also a significant negative association between the presence of lacunes in putamen/pallidum and the memory compound Z score (β =-0.13,p=0.038).By contrast, no significant negative association was found between cognitive parameters and the presence of lacunes in internal capsule, lobar white matter, or caudate nucleus.

                                Conclusion: In non-disabled elderly subjects with leukoaraisosis, the location of lacunes within subcortical grey matter is a determinant of cognitive impairment, independently of the extent of WMH.

                                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                Request permissions

                                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.