Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Early Intervention for Mild Cognitive Impairment: A Randomised Controlled Trial
  1. Glynda J Kinsella (g.kinsella{at}latrobe.edu.au)
  1. La Trobe University, Australia
    1. Elizabeth Mullaly (e.mullaly{at}cgmc.org.au)
    1. Caulfield Hospital, Australia
      1. Elizabeth Rand (e.rand{at}latrobe.edu.au)
      1. Caulfield Hospital, Australia
        1. Ben Ong (b.ong{at}latrobe.edu.au)
        1. La Trobe University, Australia
          1. Carol Burton (carolburton{at}esc.net.au)
          1. La Trobe University, Australia
            1. Sarah Price (s.price{at}latrobe.edu.au)
            1. La Trobe University, Australia
              1. Margaret Phillips (margaret.phillips{at}wh.org.au)
              1. Bundoora Extended Care Centre, Australia
                1. Elsdon Storey (elsdon.storey{at}med.monash.edu.au)
                1. Monash University, Australia

                  Abstract

                  Background: Positive effects are reported for memory training for healthy older adults and yet there is limited information about the benefit of cognitive intervention for older adults with increasing memory difficulties - mild cognitive impairment.

                  Objective: To investigate the usefulness of an early cognitive intervention for the memory difficulties experienced by people with amnestic mild cognitive impairment.

                  Methods: Using a randomised control design, fifty-two participants with amnestic mild cognitive impairment and their family partners were randomly assigned to a cognitive intervention (memory rehabilitation group) or waitlist (control group). Participants were assessed on primary measures of everyday memory (prospective memory) and memory strategies at 2 weeks and 4 month follow-up; secondary measures of contentment with memory and the family participants' knowledge of memory strategies were also assessed.

                  Results: Everyday memory, measured by performance on prospective memory tasks, significantly improved following intervention although self-appraisal of everyday memory did not demonstrate a similar intervention effect. Knowledge and use of memory strategies also significantly increased following intervention. Furthermore, family knowledge of memory strategies increased following intervention. There was a strong trend towards improvement in contentment with memory immediately following intervention but this effect was not significant.

                  Conclusions: Early intervention for memory difficulties in amnestic mild cognitive impairment, using cognitive rehabilitation in compensatory strategies, can assist in minimising everyday memory failures as evaluated by performance on prospective memory tasks and knowledge of memory strategies.

                  Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry: ACTRN12605000711617

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.