Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Somatosensory temporal discrimination in patients with primary focal dystonia
  1. Alessandra Scontrini (alessandra.scontrini{at}uniroma1.it)
  1. Department of Neurological Sciences and Neuromed Institute, “Sapienza”, University of Rome, Italy
    1. Antonella Conte (antonella.conte{at}uniroma1.it)
    1. Department of Neurological Sciences and Neuromed Institute, “Sapienza”, University of Rome, Italy
      1. Giovanni Defazio (gdefazio{at}neurol.uniba.it)
      1. Department of Neurological and Psychiatric Sciences, University of Bari, Italy
        1. Mirta Fiorio (mirta.fiorio{at}univr.it)
        1. Department of Neurological and Vision Sciences, University of Verona, Italy
          1. Giovanni Fabbrini (giovanni.fabbrini{at}uniroma1.it)
          1. Department of Neurological Sciences and Neuromed Institute, “Sapienza”, University of Rome, Italy
            1. Antonio Suppa (antonio.suppa{at}uniroma1.it)
            1. Department of Neurological Sciences and Neuromed Institute, “Sapienza”, University of Rome, Italy
              1. Michele Tinazzi
              1. Department of Neurological and Vision Sciences, University of Verona, Italy
                1. Alfredo Berardelli (alfredo.berardelli{at}uniroma1.it)
                1. Department of Neurological Sciences and Neuromed Institute, “Sapienza”, University of Rome, Italy

                  Abstract

                  Purposes: To determine whether somatosensory temporal discrimination will reliably detect subclinical sensory impairment in patients with various forms of primary focal dystonia.

                  Methods: We tested the somatosensory temporal discrimination threshold (STDT) in 82 outpatients affected by cranial, cervical, laryngeal and hand dystonia. Results were compared with those for 61 healthy subjects and 26 patients with hemifacial spasm, a non-dystonic disorder. The STDT was tested by delivering paired stimuli starting with an interstimulus interval of 0 msec followed by a progressively increasing interstimulus interval.

                  Results: STDT was abnormal in all the different forms of primary focal dystonias in all three body regions (eye, hand and neck), regardless of the distribution and severity of motor symptoms. Receiver operating characteristic curve analysis calculated in the three body regions yielded high diagnostic sensitivity and specificity for STDT abnormalities.

                  Conclusions: these results provide definitive evidence that STDT abnormalities are a generalized feature of patients with primary focal dystonias and are a valid tool for screening subclinical sensory abnormalities.

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.