Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Ruptured carotid artery aneurysms of the ophthalmic (C6) segment: clinical and angiographic long-term follow-up of a multidisciplinary management strategy
  1. Camillo Sherif (camillo.sherif{at}ksa.ch)
  1. Medical University of Vienna, Austria
    1. Andreas Gruber (andreas.gruber{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
    1. Medical University of Vienna, Austria
      1. Christian Dorfer (christian.dorfer{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
      1. Medical University of Vienna, Austria
        1. Gerhard Bavinzski (gerhard.bavinzski{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
        1. Medical University of Vienna, Austria
          1. Harald Standhardt (harald.standhardt{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
          1. Medical University of Vienna, Austria
            1. Engelbert Knosp (engelbert.knosp{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
            1. Medical University of Vienna, Austria

              Abstract

              Background: The management of ruptured C6 aneurysms remains controversial. Detailed long-term outcome data are still lacking. Thus, the present study provided a detailed long-term follow-up for a multidisciplinary approach combining microsurgical clipping, endovascular embolization and parent artery occlusion with/without bypass-protection.

              Methods: In our single-centre analysis of 64 consecutive patients, indications for microsurgery were: superior aneurysm projection, giant/large or wide necked aneurysms and aneurysms at branching sites. Indications for embolization were: narrow necks, neck calcification, close aneurysm relation to the clinoid process or adhesion to the distal dural ring and aneurysm location in the concavity of the carotid siphon curve.

              Results: 23 patients (35.9%) underwent microsurgery, 38 patients (59.4%) embolization, 3 patients (4.7%) parent artery occlusion under bypass-protection. Retreatment was required in 20.9% (surgery 8.7%, endovascular 31.6%). Procedure-related transient complications occurred in 10.9% (surgery 13.0%, endovascular 10.5%). Procedure-related permanent morbidities occurred in 6.3% (surgery 8.7%, endovascular 5.3%), including visual deficits in 4.7% (surgery 4.4%, endovascular 5.3%). One endovascular patient died. Angiographic follow-up (29.2±31.9 months) revealed total aneurysm occlusion in 94.4% of the surgical and 82.9% of the endovascular patients. Clinical follow-up (58.7±47.6 months) showed 73.4% of the population reaching GOS 4-5, this data being equivalent to the ISAT outcomes.

              Conclusions: Based on favorable neuroradiologic and ophthalmologic outcomes, microsurgery is recommended for superiorly projecting aneurysms - especially aneurysms involving the ophthalmic artery - and for giant/large or wide necked aneurysms. Based on stable aneurysm occlusion and excellent clinical outcomes, embolization can be recommended for inferiorly/medially projecting small, narrow necked aneurysms.

              Statistics from Altmetric.com

              Request permissions

              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.