Article Text

Members of the Working Group

Statistics from

Mrs Mary G Baker MBE*

President of the European Parkinson’s Disease Association

Parkinson’s Disease Society, 22 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0RA

Dr Martin Brown

Secretary of the Services sub-committee of the Association of British Neurologists

Senior Lecturer in Neurology

Division of Clinical Neuroscience, St George’s Hospital Medical School, London SW17 0RE

Dr Angus Clarke*

Senior Lecturer in Medical Genetics

University of Wales College of Medicine, Heath Park, Cardiff CF4 4XN

Mrs Shirley Dalby

Development Director, The Neurological Alliance

41 Frewin Road, London SW18 3LR

Professor David Edwards*

Weston Professor of Neonatal Medicine

Hammersmith Hospital, Du Cane Road, London W12 0NN

Dr Michael Gill

Director of Public Health, Brent and Harrow Health Authority

2 Grace House, Harrovian Business Village, Harrow HA1 3EX

Dr Richard Godwin-Austen

President, Association of British Neurologists

Papplewick Hall, Nottinghamshire NG15 8FE

Dr Anthony Hopkins*

Consultant Neurologist, St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London

Director of the Research Unit

Royal College of Physicians, 11 St Andrew’s Place, London NW1 4LE

Dr Robin Howard*

Consultant Neurologist

The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queen Square, London WC1N 3BG and St Thomas’ Hospital, London SE1 7EH

Professor Richard Hughes

Chairman of the Committee on Neurology of the Royal College of Physicians

Professor of Neurology

United Medical and Dental Schools of Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital, Guy’s Hospital, St Thomas’ St, London SE1 9RT

Dr Aleksandar Janca*

Medical Officer, World Health Organisation

Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse, World Health Organisation, CH-1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland

Professor Richard Langton Hewer*

Professor of Neurology

Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol, Canynge Hall, Whiteladies Road, Bristol BS8 2PR

Professor Nigel P Leigh

Professor of Neurology

Institute of Psychiatry, De Crespigny Park, London SE5 8AF

Mr Richard Lye

Honorary Secretary of the Society of British Neurological Surgeons

Reader in Neurosurgery

University of Manchester Department of Neurosurgery, Manchester Royal Infirmary, Oxford Road, Manchester ME13 9WL

Professor David Marsden FRS


Institute of Neurology, Queen Square, London WC1N 3BG

Dr Richard Maxwell

Member of Council of the Royal College of General Practitioners

“Terra Firma”, 15 York Gardens, Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LL

Professor W Ian McDonald

President of the Association of British Neurologists

Editor of Brain

Institute of Neurology, Queen Square, London WC1N 3BG

Dr Norman Melia

Observer from the Department of Health

Room 410A Eileen House, 80-94 Newington Causeway, London SE1 6EF

Dr Kerry Mills

Representative from the Association of British Clinical Neurophysiologists

Clinical Neurophysiology Unit, University Department of Clinical Neurology, Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford, OX2 6HE

Professor John Newsom-Davis CBE FRS

Professor of Clinical Neurology

Radcliffe Infirmary, Woodstock Road, Oxford, OX2 6HE

Dr David Perkin*

Consultant Neurologist

Regional Neurosciences Unit, Charing Cross Hospital, London W6 8RF

Dr Edward Reynolds

President of the International League against Epilepsy and Director of Institute of Epileptology

Institute of Epileptology, King’s College Hospital, Denmark Hill, London SE5 9RS

Dr Martin Rossor

Consultant Neurologist

National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queen Square, London WC1N 3BG

Dr Anthony Rudd*

Member of the British Stroke Research Group

Consultant Physician

Elderly Care Department, St Thomas’ Hospital, London SE1 7EH

Dr Peter Sheridan

Senior Medical Officer, Department of Health

Wellington House, 135-155 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UG

Ms Juliet Solomon

Research Associate

Research Unit, Royal College of Physicians, London NW1 4LE

Dr Derick T Wade*

Consultant in Neurological Disability

Rivermead Rehabilitation Centre, Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4XD

Dr Charles Wolfe*

Senior Lecturer in Public Health Medicine

United Medical and Dental Schools of Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital, St Thomas’ Hospital, London SE1 7EH


  • *  Denotes author of background paper.

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.