Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Why, for once, is the UK leading the way in implementing evidence?
  1. Alec Fraser1,
  2. Anthony Rudd2,3
  1. 1Department of Management, Kings College, University of London, London, UK
  2. 2Kings College, University London, London, UK
  3. 3Stroke Unit, St Thomas’ Hospital, London, UK
  1. Correspondence to Professor Anthony Rudd, Stroke Unit, St Thomas’ Hospital, Lambeth Palace Rd, London SE1 7EH, UK; Anthony.rudd{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

One of the major factors influencing the quality of healthcare is the responsiveness of clinicians to new evidence and their willingness to implement findings into routine clinical practice in a timely way.1 The factors that affect the efficiency of getting evidence into practice are complex; a good example of this is illustrated in the paper by Ankolekar et al.2 The Clots in Legs or sTockings after Stroke (CLOTS) 1 trial definitively showed that compression stockings after stroke did not prevent venous thromboembolism. The trial was well conducted and adequately powered for the primary outcome, so there was little room for debate about the validity of the result. Running concurrently with the CLOTS 1 trial and continuing beyond it …

View Full Text


  • Competing interests None.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; not externally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • Cerebrovascular disease
    Sandeep Ankolekar Cheryl Renton Daniel Bereczki Nikola Sprigg Tanya Payne John Gommans Eivind Berge Joanna Wardlaw Martin S Dennis Philip M W Bath for the ENOS Trial Investigators Pierre Amarenco Philip Bath Kennedy R Lees Keith Muir Stuart Pocock Angela Shone Jane Sinclair Graham Venables Joanna Wardlaw David Whynes Chris Bladin Valeria Caso Hui Meng Chang Ronan Collins Anna Czlonkowska Anwar El Etribi Abdul Raman Ghani John Gommans Stephen Phillips Kameshwar Prasad Asita de Silva Szabolcs Szatmari Exuperio de Tejedor Yong-Jun Wang Lawrence Wong