Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Could immunological mechanisms trigger neurodegeneration in frontotemporal dementia?
  1. James R Burrell1,2,
  2. John R Hodges1,2
  1. 1Neuroscience Research Australia, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  2. 2University of New South Wales, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  1. Correspondence to Professor John R Hodges, Neuroscience Research Australia, Cnr Barker St and Easy St, Randwick, Sydney, NSW 2031, Australia; j.hodges{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Non-thyroid autoimmune disease is more common in frontotemporal dementia caused by Tar-DNA binding protein-43 (TDP-43).

When conveying a new diagnosis of frontotemporal dementia (FTD) the clinician almost invariably encounters the following questions ‘Why has this happened?’ ‘Is there any treatment?’ and ‘Will our children get it?’ With the discovery of the MAPT and Progranulin mutations, and most recently pathological C9ORF72 repeat expansions,1 we have a much firmer handle on the last question. These discoveries have undoubtedly shed light on the pathogenesis and final common pathway in FTD but we still know little about causation in sporadic cases. Without a clear understanding …

View Full Text


  • Contributors JRB and JRH drafted and revised the submission. Both authors have approved the final version.

  • Competing interests None.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • Neurodegeneration
    Zachary A Miller Katherine P Rankin Neill R Graff-Radford Leonel T Takada Virginia E Sturm Clare M Cleveland Lindsey A Criswell Philipp A Jaeger Trisha Stan Kristin A Heggeli Sandy Chan Hsu Anna Karydas Baber K Khan Lea T Grinberg Maria Luisa Gorno-Tempini Adam L Boxer Howard J Rosen Joel H Kramer Giovanni Coppola Daniel H Geschwind Rosa Rademakers William W Seeley Tony Wyss-Coray Bruce L Miller