Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Pathology provides clarity in the next-generation sequencing era
  1. Gianina Ravenscroft
  1. Correspondence to Dr Gianina Ravenscroft, Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, Centre for Medical Research, University of Western Australia, QE II Medical Centre, Nedlands, WA 6009, Australia; gina.ravenscroft{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

In their JNNP paper Uruha et al1 explore the diagnostic utility of necklace cytoplasmic bodies in patients with hereditary myopathy with early respiratory failure (HMERF). HMERF is a rare autosomal dominant disease characterised by skeletal muscle weakness and respiratory failure as early symptoms, usually presenting in the third or fourth decade of life. The muscle pathology is characterised by the presence of multiple cytoplasmic bodies, other protein aggregates, myofibrillar disarray and degradation. To date, all patients presenting with HMERF harbour mutation of exon 343 of titin (TTN), encoding the fibronectin III 119 subdomain (FN3 119).2–5 Most recently, it has been shown that HMERF substitutions impair the solubility of the FN3 119 domain, suggesting protein misfolding as a potential mechanism of disease.6

There is currently debate as to whether coinheritance of a variant within the tyrosine kinase domain can alter the severity associated with a FN3 119 mutation …

View Full Text


  • Competing interests GR is supported by a NHMRC Early Career Researcher Fellowship (APP1035955).

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • Neuromuscular
    Akinori Uruha Yukiko K Hayashi Yasushi Oya Madoka Mori-Yoshimura Masahiro Kanai Miho Murata Mayumi Kawamura Katsuhisa Ogata Tsuyoshi Matsumura Shigeaki Suzuki Yukako Takahashi Takayuki Kondo Takeshi Kawarabayashi Yuko Ishii Norito Kokubun Satoshi Yokoi Rei Yasuda Jun-ichi Kira Satomi Mitsuhashi Satoru Noguchi Ikuya Nonaka Ichizo Nishino