Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Active immunotherapy may delay disability in progressive MS
  1. Aiden Haghikia,
  2. Ralf Gold
  1. Department of Neurology, Ruhr-University Bochum, St. Josef-Hospital Bochum, Bochum, Germany
  1. Correspondence to Professor Ralf Gold, Department of Neurology, Ruhr-University Bochum, St. Josef-Hospital Bochum, Gudrunstrasse 56 Bochum 44791, Germany;{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

In this issue of the journal, an epidemiological study using global multiple sclerosis (MS) database is published that investigated prognostic factors in advanced stages of MS.1 The cohort analysed included prospectively collected data of over 3000 patients with MS, and among various factors comprised demographics, age at onset, disease duration, annualised relapse rate, disability as rated by Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) and history of immunotherapies. By dividing disease stage in three subgroups or ‘epochs’ as called by the authors (EDSS 3–6, 4–6 and 6–6.5) one of the relevant findings was that previous disease activity before entering advanced stages of MS had no impact on disease progression in later stages. Another important, and rather encouraging, finding was that …

View Full Text


  • Competing interests None declared.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • Multiple sclerosis
    Nathaniel Lizak Alessandra Lugaresi Raed Alroughani Jeannette Lechner-Scott Mark Slee Eva Havrdova Dana Horakova Maria Trojano Guillermo Izquierdo Pierre Duquette Marc Girard Alexandre Prat Pierre Grammond Raymond Hupperts Francois Grand'Maison Patrizia Sola Eugenio Pucci Roberto Bergamaschi Celia Oreja-Guevara Vincent Van Pesch Cristina Ramo Daniele Spitaleri Gerardo Iuliano Cavit Boz Franco Granella Javier Olascoaga Freek Verheul Csilla Rozsa Edgardo Cristiano Shlomo Flechter Suzanne Hodgkinson Maria Pia Amato Norma Deri Vilija Jokubaitis Tim Spelman Helmut Butzkueven Tomas Kalincik