Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Geographical differences in preventative therapies for neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorder
  1. Masahiro Mori,
  2. Akiyuki Uzawa,
  3. Satoshi Kuwabara
  1. Department of Neurology, Graduate School of Medicine, Chiba University, Chiba, Japan
  1. Correspondence to Dr Masahiro Mori, Department of Neurology, Graduate School of Medicine, Chiba University, 1-8-1 Inohana, Chuo-ku, Chiba, 260-8670, Japan; morim{at}

Statistics from

Are corticosteroids or monoclonal antibodies better to prevent relapse in NMO spectrum disorders?

Evidence for the treatment of neuromyelitis optica (NMO) spectrum disorder (NMOSD) has accumulated in the past decades. Case series and open-label studies suggest the efficacy of various immunosuppressive agents and more recently, monoclonal antibodies for attack prevention. Oral corticosteroids combined with azathioprine, mycophenolate mofetil or rituximab are an efficient widely used treatment.1 However, because of the lack of randomised controlled trials (RCT) to evaluate the efficacy and safety of any drugs described above, there is no established therapy.

In their JNNP paper, Stellmann et al 2 (German NEMOS (Neuromyelitis Optica Study) Group) reported a retrospective cohort study, including 150 patients with NMOSD (87% aquaporin-4 antibody positive), for attack prevention …

View Full Text


  • Contributors MM has made a draft of the manuscript and AU and SK have supervised it.

  • Funding This work was supported in part by the Health and Labour Sciences Research Grant on Intractable Diseases (Neurodegenerative Diseases) from the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan.

  • Competing interests None declared.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Linked Articles

  • Neuro-inflammation
    Jan-Patrick Stellmann Markus Krumbholz Tim Friede Anna Gahlen Nadja Borisow Katrin Fischer Kerstin Hellwig Florence Pache Klemens Ruprecht Joachim Havla Tania Kümpfel Orhan Aktas Hans-Peter Hartung Marius Ringelstein Christian Geis Christoph Kleinschnitz Achim Berthele Bernhard Hemmer Klemens Angstwurm Kim Lea Young Simon Schuster Martin Stangel Florian Lauda Hayrettin Tumani Christoph Mayer Lena Zeltner Ulf Ziemann Ralf Andreas Linker Matthias Schwab Martin Marziniak Florian Then Bergh Ulrich Hofstadt-van Oy Oliver Neuhaus Uwe Zettl Jürgen Faiss Brigitte Wildemann Friedemann Paul Sven Jarius Corinna Trebst Ingo Kleiter