Article Text

Download PDFPDF

How and how early can we predict a stroke patient’s fate after thrombectomy?
  1. Peter B Sporns
  1. Neuroradiology, Universitatsspital Basel, Basel, Switzerland
  1. Correspondence to Dr Peter B Sporns, Neuroradiology, Universitatsspital Basel, Basel 4031, Switzerland; peter.sporns{at}

Statistics from

National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale 24 hours after thrombectomy predicts functional outcome of patients with stroke and may serve as early outcome parameter in future studies

Early prediction of long-term functional outcome after acute ischaemic stroke is an appealing target as it may serve for early allocation of medical and financial resources and as early endpoint for future trials. Whereas in patients with ischaemic stroke after intravenous thrombolysis early surrogates such as neurological improvement of National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS) at 2 hours compared with admission NIHSS were described as reliable predictors of 3-month functional outcome,1 to date no consensus exists which parameters are suited as early surrogate of functional outcome after mechanical thrombectomy (MT).

Meyer et al 2 present an analysis of the German Stroke Registry Endovascular Treatment …

View Full Text

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Linked Articles

  • Cerebrovascular disease
    Lukas Meyer Gabriel Broocks Matthias Bechstein Fabian Flottmann Hannes Leischner Caspar Brekenfeld Gerhard Schön Milani Deb-Chatterji Anna Alegiani Götz Thomalla Jens Fiehler Helge Kniep Uta Hanning For the German Stroke Registry – Endovascular Treatment (GSR – ET) Tobias Boeckh-Behrens Silke Wunderlich Arno Reich Martin Wiesmann Ulrike Ernemann Till-Karsten Hauser Eberhard Siebert Sarah Zweynert Georg Bohner Alexander Ludolph Karl-Heinz Henn Waltraud Pfeilschifter Marlis Wagner Joachim Röther Bernd Eckert Jörg Berrouschot Albrecht Bormann Christian Gerloff Elke Hattingen Gabor Petzold Sven Thonke Christopher Bangard Christoffer Kraemer Martin Dichgans Frank Wollenweber Lars Kellert Franziska Dorn Moriz Herzberg Marios Psychogios Jan Liman Martina Petersen Florian Stögbauer Peter Kraft Mirko Pham Michael Braun Gerhard F Hamann Andreas Kastrup Christian Roth Klaus Gröschel Timo Uphaus Volker Limmroth