Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Autoimmune encephalitis: new hammers in the toolbox
  1. Jenny Linnoila
  1. Neurology, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts, USA
  1. Correspondence to Dr Jenny Linnoila, Neurology, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA 02114, USA; Linnoila.Jenny{at}

Statistics from

Updated guidelines for the diagnosis and acute treatment of autoimmune encephalitis

Recently, the field of autoimmune neurology has been expanding and evolving at a brisk pace. There has been renewed interest in the field, especially with the discovery that many rapidly progressive dementias, cryptogenic refractory seizures and movement disorders are autoimmune in aetiology. Excitement has grown with the recognition that numerous novel neural autoantibodies identified over the past decade and a half are associated with highly treatable autoimmune encephalitides, where patients have demonstrated good outcomes, particularly if diagnosed and treated early. This provides great hope for patients, families and practitioners alike and is in stark contrast with many of the now ‘classic’ paraneoplastic neurological disorders associated with intracellularly targeted antibodies, such as anti-Hu/antineuronal nuclear antibody type 1 (ANNA-1) or anti-Yo/Purkinje cell cytoplasmic antibody type 1 (PCA-1), which are well known to be poorly responsive to treatment, often leaving patients with devastating neurological sequelae. Knowing …

View Full Text


  • Contributors JL is the sole author of this invited piece.

  • Competing interests None declared.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Linked Articles

  • Neuro-inflammation
    Hesham Abboud John C Probasco Sarosh Irani Beau Ances David R Benavides Michael Bradshaw Paulo Pereira Christo Russell C Dale Mireya Fernandez-Fournier Eoin P Flanagan Avi Gadoth Pravin George Elena Grebenciucova Adham Jammoul Soon-Tae Lee Yuebing Li Marcelo Matiello Anne Marie Morse Alexander Rae-Grant Galeno Rojas Ian Rossman Sarah Schmitt Arun Venkatesan Steven Vernino Sean J Pittock Maarten J Titulaer Autoimmune Encephalitis Alliance Clinicians Network Rawan Tarawneh Heather Van Mater Eyal Muscal Ilene Ruhoy Yaacov Anziska Erin Longbrake Susa Benseler Cynthia Wang Michelle Apperson Raffaele Iorio Mateus Mistieri Simabukuro Ning Zhong Stephan Rüegg Amanda Piquet Jonathan Kuo Bahadir Konuskan Elena Frid Joseph Deng Wendy Mitchell GenaLynne Mooneyham Riwanti Estiasari Yuhei Chiba Melanie Alarcio Velda Han Jon Williams Michael Sweeney Tania Cellucci Kyle Blackburn Marisa Klein-Gitelman Jonathan D Santoro Raymond Suarez Jose Irazuzta Staley Brod Ann Hyslop Katrina Manibog Domingo Escudero William Noland Stacey Clardy Soe Mar William Kilgo