Article Text

other Versions

Download PDFPDF
In vivo PET imaging of neuroinflammation in familial frontotemporal dementia
  1. Harro Seelaar,
  2. John Cornelis Van Swieten
  1. Department of Neurology, Erasmus University Medical Centre & Alzheimer Centre, Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, The Netherlands
  1. Correspondence to Dr Harro Seelaar, Neurology, Erasmus MC Alzheimer Centre, Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, The Netherlands; h.seelaar{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Uncovering disease mechanisms in frontotemporal dementia: neuroinflammation under the spotlight

There is increasing clinical, genetic, molecular and cellular evidence that neuroinflammation plays an important role in sporadic and genetic frontotemporal dementia (FTD), with mutations in Progranulin (GRN), microtubule-associated protein tau (MAPT) or repeat expansions in chromosome nine open reading frame 72 (C9orf72).1 GRN and C9orf72 are highly expressed in microglia.2 Genes involved in immune pathways are significantly associated with FTD, and upregulated expression of astrocytic and microglial proteins are found in FTD brains. Furthermore, higher levels of neuroinflammatory biomarkers are found in the cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) of patients with FTD compared with controls or presymptomatic mutation carriers.2

Translocator protein 18 kDa (TSPO) positron emission tomography (PET) ligands are used as …

View Full Text


  • Twitter @HarroSeelaar

  • Contributors Both authors contributed equally to the manuscript.

  • Funding This study was funded by ZonMw (grant 733050513).

  • Competing interests None declared.

  • Patient consent for publication Not required.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • Neurodegeneration
    Maura Malpetti Timothy Rittman Peter Simon Jones Thomas Edmund Cope Luca Passamonti William Richard Bevan-Jones Karalyn Patterson Tim D Fryer Young T Hong Franklin I Aigbirhio John Tiernan O'Brien James Benedict Rowe